food, crafts, nerdy things, travel, etc.

Homemade Fruit Leather

DSC_0122

Flavors from left to right: grape, apple cinnamon, raspberry mango, banana chocolate, tropical fruit, blueberry cantaloupe, strawberry kiwi, honey vanilla peach

DSC_0113-2DSC_0218-2

I just got a new kitchen toy (I LOVE kitchen toys), a dehydrator! A lot of people use dehydrators to store food that they buy in bulk or that goes out of season, but I pretty much just bought it to make beef jerky and fruit leather 🙂 I may also use it to store herbs if I grow some when it gets warmer out. I tried out making several different flavors to get a feel for how the thing worked and which types of fruits would work best. I would say it was a huge success because all the flavors tasted delicious! Some had better consistencies than others but they were all very tasty.

DSC_0222

This is how the sheets look after they’re done dehydrating

DSC_0101DSC_0181-2  DSC_0210  

These quantities made 1 tray for each flavor. For all the flavors except the apple cinnamon (which I poured straight from the jar) I pureed all the ingredients in my food processor until they reached a smooth consistency.

Apple cinnamon – 2 cups cinnamon applesauce

  • This one had the consistency most resembling real fruit leather I used to eat as a kid. Super delicious and peeled off really easily!

Rasbperry mango – 1.5 cups fresh mango, 1 cup fresh raspberries, 1 tbs honey (because my mango wasn’t very ripe and sweet)

  • Really good, the most tart of all the flavors

Honey vanilla peach – 2 cups canned peach halves (drained and rinsed), 1 tbs honey, 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

  • Another one with really good consistency and peeled away really easily, very sweet and good flavor

Banana chocolate – 4 small ripe bananas, 2 tbs unsweetened coco powder

  • good consistency, you could definitely taste the chocolate, great if you’re a fan of bananas!

Tropical fruit – 1 cup fresh pineapple, 1 cup fresh mango, 1 ripe banana

  • yum! peeled easily and great texture

Blueberry cantaloupe – 2 cups cubed cantaloupe, 1 cup blueberries

  • This one was a bit sticky and probably had my least favorite flavor. It was still good but I probably won’t make it again

Strawberry kiwi – 1 small package strawberries (~1.5 cups), 4 kiwis, 1 tbs honey

  •  delicious! a bit tart and I love the crunch of the seeds

Grape – 2 cups fresh grapes

  • This one probably was the stickiest and hardest to peel off but it was one of my favorites in terms of taste

I dried all of the flavors on fruit roll sheets at 130 C for 6-9 hours until they were dry

3 Responses to “Homemade Fruit Leather”

  1. kathy

    I bought the same dehydrator for the same reasons lol! Try Mango/Blackberry with canned Delmonte Mango (15 oz diced only). I puree the blackberries and remove as many seeds as possible then add about 1 cup puree to the drained and pureed mango (makes slightly more than 2 cups but it still fit in my fruit roll trays. I’ve tried it with fresh mango but it wasn’t as good (they’re not in season right now so they lack flavor) and other brands of canned mango weren’t as good. The only other “canned” I like are the delmonte in glass jars in the refrigerated section but they’re more expensive. I got a great deal on organic Blackberries that were going bad so I processed them all into puree and froze 1 cup portions so I can throw this together in no time. Can’t wait to pick fresh Blackberries this summer!! I’ll try fresh mango again when they’re in season and if it’s as good as the canned I’ll freeze portions of mango puree so I can make this all winter long! Enjoy!

    Reply
    • rachelhowden11

      Thanks for the suggestion, it sounds good 🙂 I’m finally unpacked in my new apt so I have my dehydrator back. I’m excited to start making stuff in it again

      Reply

Leave a Reply

