Lomo Saltado

I’m finally back! I apologize for the long delay in posting anything. Mark and I went on a long trip to South America and when I got back I packed up and moved to California. I’m finally a bit more settled in my temporary apartment here so I’m back to cooking 🙂

DSC_0564

This dish is something we had a few times in Peru. It’s a popular traditional dish there, part of Chifa (Chinese Peruvian) cuisine. As with a lot of the food there, it’s starch heavy since it includes using both potatoes and rice.

DSC_0580

Ingredients:

  • French fried, already prepared (you can use frozen fries. I used 1 Russet potato and fried them up myself)
  • vegetable oil as needed
  • 1 lb beef, sliced into strips (you can use stir fry beef or any regular steak depending on whatever quality you’d prefer to eat)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 red onion, chopped into strips
  • 3 large tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 yellow chili pepper
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup white vinegar
  • 1 dash soy sauce to taste
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 2 tbs cilantro (you can use parsley for more authentic taste, but I preferred using cilantro)
  • optional: white rice, prepared

Directions:

  • Marinate the beef strips in the vinegar, soy sauce, and cumin for at least 30 min.
  • Prepare the french fries
  • Heat a bit of oil in a frying pan. Add the red onion and cook till soft. Add the beef pieces and cook till browned on the outside.
  • Add the tomato, yellow pepper, and garlic, and cook till the tomato softens. Pour in the leftover vinegar and soy sauce marinade. Verify that the beef has been cooked through.
  • Stir in the french fries just before serving and serve alone or over white rice. Sprinkle with cilantro or rice to serve.

Leave a Reply

