Game of Thrones Feast 1: King’s Landing

DSC_0122-2

I got this Game of Thrones cookbook as a gift from my boyfriend last year and we decided to cook dishes from different regions on Sundays for watching the show. This week it seemed appropriate to cook from the King’s Landing recipes and to make a feast to celebrate the wedding šŸ™‚ The dishes were:

 

  • Bread, fruit, and cheese
  • Lemon cakes
  • Almond, herb crusted fish
  • Cornish game hens with butter sauce
  • Roasted sweet and savory carrots and parsnips
  • Cheese and onion pie
  • Apricot cherry tart
  • Plum salad
  • Salmon fig tarts

DSC_0107

DSC_0111

DSC_0112

DSC_0113-3

DSC_0114-2

DSC_0115

DSC_0116

DSC_0118

DSC_0108

I’m not going to write out all the recipes because they’re in the cookbook but I’ll write my favorite one. The salmon fig tarts were unbelievable amazing! In the book they sometimes will give both a modern and a traditional version of a recipe. For this dish I did a bit of a combination from the 2 recipes. These are seriously great. I think they’ll be one of my go to appetizers from now on.

Ingredients:

  • Smoked salmon (1 large package)
  • 7-8 dates, pitted
  • 7-8 dried figs
  • handful of slivered almonds
  • 2 packs frozen tart shells

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 400 F
  • Grind dates and figs in food processor till chopped into small pieces
  • Shred the smoked salmon and mix, along with the almonds, into the date/fig mixture
  • Scoop into small balls with your hand and fill the tart shells
  • Bake for 15 minutes until the shells turn golden and crisp

Leave a comment